Being better

I have recently gone through many changes in my life, some rather surprising! I met the love of my life, and this somehow flicked a switch in me; all I wanted was to be the best person I could be and nurture not only myself, but our future together.

He is a Christian, and I will be honest and say that “Christianity” always put my hair on end.  I had no time and still don’t, quite frankly, for the Bible bashers. The people who judge and actually make you NOT want to be a Christian!

I went to Riverside Community Church with him one weekend very shortly after we met, and outside is a big sign that says “No perfect people allowed”.  It was the exact reason he chose this church. I felt so incredibly uncomfortable; people were singing and clapping and amen-ing and I did not really know what the deal was. There were people of all ages, people wearing flip flops and normal clothes (some rather trendy), some with tattoos and some with odd hair. It just looked like a great big room of normal happy people.

Free Printable from Falala Designs

Then I started listening to the pastor, also a really down to earth normal looking guy. He spoke about how we are all different, how we should accept and respect each others differences as we all have a part to play, and love.  He read 1 Corinthians 13. I didn’t think that much about it, until the next week my grandmother died, and all I could think of was his sermon, and it was comforting. Which surprised me!

I was then sure that this was something I wanted in my life, something that we could share as a couple too. We are still normal, and far from perfect.  Having God in your life doesn’t mean you have to be a complete bore, nobody is perfect. We still drink too much on occasion, swear too much (unfortunately), watch inappropriate TV, dress normally and we don’t preach to every person we meet. I am still learning about this whole “Christianity” life, I am not even sure if I can call myself a Christian yet. I have chosen to believe in God and I know I want to be a part of a community of people wanting to be the best they can be.  This is a quite a journey for me and I am actually loving it!

Leave a Reply

