Home Composting with Bokashi & Red Wrigglers

I recently blogged about how I was making changes to reduce my waste and shop and live more simply.  So far it has been awesome, but in the last couple of weeks things have been cranked up a notch.

Friday, I completed my wormerie.  I bought 2 plastic bins from a very plastic shop, which I am ashamed to have shopped at. We placed a tap in the bottom of bin number one, and drilled holes in the base and sides of bin number 2 and then stacked bin 2 into bin 1, and put the lid on.  I bought some red wriggler worms from Vermi Trade, and those were placed along with some shredded paper, egg carton, vegetable peelings and tea bags into the top bin. Now I wait, and hope they survive and give me lots of awesome ‘worm tea’.  If there weren’t over 100 of them, and if they didn’t all look the same, I would name each of them; I love them. So I will call them Bennie, and Bennie lives in Wormville.

No longer will our uncooked vegetable & fruit peelings & leftovers, tea bags, coffee grounds, egg shells, egg cartons that usually go into the bin, be placed in a smelly bag on the side of the road every week, to be collected by a truck and dumped with billions of other bags in a heap for landfill. Instead, we will scrape them into Wormville, and Bennie will happily munch away.  Then we can drain off the liquid and make worm tea to feed our plants.  Awesome-ness!

You can buy red wriggler worms from Vermi Trade in Boksburg or Worm Farm in Sunninghill & Parkwood. They also sell the ready made wormeries or you can make one like I did.

Faithful to Nature - Probio Bokashi Composter
Faithful to Nature – Probio Bokashi Composter

Then today we got the Probio Bokashi Indoor composter. This will take care of all our meat, dairy and cooked food. All you do is scrape your food into the bin, layer with the Bokashi bran and allow the fermentation process to kick in. Once your first bin is full, you full up your second bin, then once that is full, you bury the contents of the first bin in the garden. The system is similar to the wormerie, in that it creates a liquid compost tea, which you can drain off through the tap and use to feed your plants and vegetable garden.

You can buy the Probio Indoor composter from Faithful-to-Nature, who will deliver free of charge if you spend more than R350.

Composting complete. The only way I could possibly be more excited right now, is if my husband told me we were going on holiday to Botswana, this year.

* This is not a sponsored blog post.

3 comments

  1. I’m super interested in bokashi. I’ve added cooked food left overs, egg shells and cheese to our normal compost, and didn’t have issues so far. But I know you’re not supposed to do it due to animals that might be interested in that. So, one day I’d like to try bokashi too. But I guess we would just need a mini one. How much do you put in yours roughly, per week?

    Like

Leave a Reply

