Mark Gungor explains why we should tithe.

When my husband first told me that he tithes, always has done and always will, I was impressed by his faith, but it still didn’t sit right for me and what I chose to do with my income. I had the usual doubts along the lines of “but how do you know where the money goes?”, “surely it is more useful to give all that money to someone who you know needs it?” etc.

So whilst we agreed on giving in general, we had different views on how to give.  Which didn’t really cause any issues at all, but I still had this niggle in my mind about tithing and how I should give, to who, how much and so on.

Until one day, with great pile of ironing to do I decided to listen to a podcast.  My lovely friend Stacey had mentionedPost your #PrayerRequest on Instapray.com Download the free prayer app. #Pray with the world -----> www.instapray.com: Mark Gungor to me and so I looked him up.  I had a quick scroll through and “Do you Tithe? Part 1” leaped out and smacked me in the face!  So I clicked play, and before I was even halfway through part one, I knew exactly what I was going to do next time I got paid; tithe.

I get it. Tithing is between God and myself, not the church and myself.  Giving in any way is fantastic, but tithing is about faith in God, not about me deciding who is in need and how. That is not to say you shouldn’t or can’t give in other ways, I do like giving to various causes and will continue to do so if and when I can. You need to do what is right for you.

If you think that tithing is all about lining the wrong peoples pockets, like I did, maybe have a listen to these podcasts.  Very interesting and puts a very different light on things.

So last week I got paid, I tithed, and it felt right. In fact, it actually feels awesome!

Leave a Reply

