What is at the centre of my lifes mindmap?

Anyone tried mindmapping? And I don’t mean in the early 90’s when the mind mapping guru came to junior school and we all had to sit in the hall armed with koki pens!

I mean now, for our lives, our marriages, our relationships, at home, at work, our kids, our studies, our lifestyles etc?

I just sat down after some quiet time and decided to quickly jot down a mind map for my life. Ya, I know, “quickly”!? Just to get a quick idea of my life in a nutshell.

Having my mind swarming with ideas, thoughts, plans and pressure (self-inflicted & unnecessary), is not an unusual occurrence for me.  I am very aware of time in my life, how much I have and what I am doing with it. I am very aware that I don’t want to be too busy to live.

More recently my life has been getting progressively easier in many ways. Not caring how shiny clean the work surfaces, windows and floors are go a long way to a happier, more fulfilled state of mind. I now only allow myself to care about such things once, maybe twice a week!  Because I now know that within half a day the dogs are in and out, the person you share your home with has messed the surfaces and 2 pigeons have already hit the window. I have been able to take a step back and ask myself, “What am I actually doing with my time?” Am I making sure I have a nice clean house in case someone drops by, or so I can sit back and say what a nice clean house I have and pat myself on the back for being a good housewife?! My husband wouldn’t notice anyway; as long as I am happy and have a smile on my face he doesn’t give a hoot about how clean our house is!  OR I can use my time to grow, grow personally, my relationship with God, reach out to friends and family, volunteer my time etc.

You are probably wondering where I am going with all of this.  I might get there.

So for me personally, God is the centre of my life, so I used all my artistic ability to draw a heart and write God inside it, on the centre of a blank page. I didn’t give myself much time to think about it, so I just  branched out, in this order, RELATIONSHIP (GOD), MARRIAGE, PERSONAL, FAMILY, FRIENDS, LIFESTYLE, STUDY, WORK (SPLASH). All in all I only spent not even 5 minutes to do what is pictured below. I decided to capture and share it as this stage (clearly not ashamed!) I will definitely be breaking this up into individual maps to branch out in more detail and more specifically. What surprised me, is the confirmation that prayer has become such a central part of my life; my initial thoughts on how I need to deal with each branch of my life, was in most cases, PRAYER, and time.

FullSizeRender

My rather artistic masterpiece

I have been aware that I pray a lot, every morning, throughout the day, and nights where I generally fall asleep before I am done (need to work on that). But seeing it in blue and white on an A4 page, was so encouraging and reaffirmed the power of prayer. I have heard of prayer journals, and maybe this is part of that, because you can actually track answered prayer and then give thanks for answered prayer. Because they do get answered (are we praying for God’s will, or our will?), I can give many examples, of very specific things!

The heart of man plans his way, but the LORD establishes his steps. Proverbs 16:9

I did the mind map to have a look at what I need to do in each area of my life. Yet what I took from it was something slightly different. A reminder to use my time wisely, to serve and love my neighbour, and to glorify God in all that I do. To be living the life God has planned out for us, we need to pray for His guidance, because if we are living the life that He wants for us, not want we want for us, we are guaranteed to have a joy filled life.

Some beautiful inspiration and images from DVOApp.com.

So I need to continue to take time to prayer for God’s guidance, to help me grow and use the time He has given us to glorify Him, and live my dream life. If it isn’t the life God planned for me, then it is not my dream life!

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. Philippians 4:6

I’m always excited to get focused and motivated in all areas of my life, and I think this mindmapping is a fun, effective way to do it. Take a few minutes to mindmap your life. Stick them on your fridge or wall as a daily reminder to motivate yourself. 🙂

 

5 thoughts on “What is at the centre of my lifes mindmap?

  1. Well done Colleen! that is an amazing and wonderful exercise and not easy to do for most of us who don’t have such active minds. Its good to put it all down on paper and it helps to organise one’s life too, which is what I like! You gave me a good idea.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great read! I realize too with work, a marriage, children and above all, my loving God, I too have started to pray more in my life. Also being on the tail end of 30 makes me realize that unless I take the time to prioritize what is most important, I’m gonna be missing out on a lot of what God has given me in this life! Thanks for the kick in the pants to write my own map and see where it leads!

    Like

Leave a Reply

