Menstrual Cup Outreach at The Khaya Centre

After much fundraising online and through Riverside Community Church, we managed to raise R22145 to buy menstrual cups from MyOwnCup, for underprivileged young girls and women.

Thank you to everyone, from around the world, who supported the project with donations and/or raising awareness by spreading the news via social media.

The BranchOut Team at Riverside connected me with The Khaya Centre in LeHae. The Khaya Centre is an organisation made up of a group of amazingly renovated, colourful shipping containers, and an equally amazing group of giving people. They provide a safe environment for children, youth and adults to learn, interact and play.

There is a children’s creche, library and computer centre which supports children within the LeHae community. They feed 1100 people a day, (yes that figure is correct!) and have their own bakery, housed in a shipping container, where they produce just over 100 loaves of bread a day. They have so many projects that are run from their centre. I was completely blown away, not just by work they are doing within their community, but by their passion for what they do.

Sara, from BranchOut and I met Cara of MyOwnCup at the Khaya Centre on the 7th May to meet the groups of women, so Cara could offer the training on the use of the menstrual cups.

Cara is passionate about these outreach projects, and it really shows in her enthusiasm whilst she is training the groups. She has such a fun, down to earth and genuine approach which makes it easy for women of all walks of life to feel comfortable to open up and learn together.

Here is a lovely little video that Cara took at the end of their last training session.

As I have mentioned before, this is something I would like to continue supporting.Β  I am in the process of sorting out the finer details to make it easier for people to donate and support the project. If anyone is interested in starting aΒ  project in their area, but maybe aren’t too sure how to go about it, then please do get in touch with me and I can possibly help.Β  I would love to see more of these projects in place across the country.

6 comments

  1. Me! Me! I would like to do something like this (maybe even in my home town in Limpopo, I visit there regularly) but have absolutely no idea where to start.

    Like

  2. Also just had a closer look at all the images now. Khaya centre is amazing! About 3 years ago I wanted to start an orphanage type place, and one of my clients at that time had a shipper container business, where they provide, and even deck out the containers to your specifications. I got quotes and everything, but it was such a huge endeavour and I got overwhelmed… Thank you for reminding me to move it higher up my to do list again…

    Like

Leave a Reply

