The Best Birthday, Ever.

So today I turned 34. My husband and I don’t really do birthdays, not because we are grumpy non-joiners, we just don’t.

So this morning I opened my eyes after around 730am after a lazy snooze in, and my eyes welled up! All I could think was how I honestly couldn’t be happier, not because I have everything and life is perfect, but because I have finally got to the point where my joy is in Jesus. No parties or gifts could make me happier than knowing that God has blessed me with another year and has changed my heart. Our life on this earth is short, and it is all about the journey, it is all about eternity. Realising this life is so short is not about cramming in everything we can do to live a busy life, being so busy in jobs to pay for ‘all the things’.  It is about focusing on what would bring God joy, what would bring our loved ones joys.  I finally realise that.

I have received more inspirational birthday messages this year than I ever have in my life, and to hear that friends can see in my life that I am living for the Lord is the best gift I could ever receive. Which led to more tears!  Hormonal or not enough crochet & cake … who knows!?

In just over 2 years, my life has completely changed, and there is only God to thank for that.  It really makes me reconsider the birthday vibe in our home.  Maybe it is time to start celebrating the years God has blessed us with, now that I don’t see it as just celebrating ourselves and buying presents.

All I can say is, Thank you Jesus for my life.

 

I am your Creator. You were in my care even before you were born. Isaiah 44:2

God doesn’t play dice.  Albert Einstein

Surely God would not have created such a being as man to exist only for a day! No, no, mad was made for immortality. Abraham Lincoln.

2 thoughts on “The Best Birthday, Ever.

  1. Wow Colleen that was a very honest message and I loved hearing our reading it thank you for being so honest! You are right life’s not about things and i see you to enjoy Jesus and what’s He’s done more!

    Like

Leave a Reply

